Tuesday, 25 April 2017

5* Review - Behind The Lie by Amanda James

Available from - Amazon.co.uk

Who can you trust, when you can’t trust yourself?

Holly West has turned her life around. She’s found a successful and loving husband in Simon and is expecting twins. She is definitely a woman who has taken back control of her future.
Until she gives birth, only for one twin to survive. Holly can’t let it go.
Holly’s world is in a tailspin and suddenly she can’t trust herself or anyone else. No one believes her, not her husband or her best friend. Because she thinks she knows the truth…her son is still alive and she won’t stop until she finds him


The prologue sees Holly West giving birth to her twins, for her baby boy not to survive. 
We then flash back five weeks to when Holly is told there is a problem by her husband, Simon, a consultant. Their baby boy is not growing well and he fears he is too small to survive. When she gives birth the worst happens and her son dies before she is able to see him leaving her understandably bereft, not just for the loss of her son but for the guilt that her drug dependency and bad lifestyle before she married Simon could have been the cause.

She then receives a letter that tears her world apart. Someone claims that Ruan is alive and living with new parents, and that they were part of this cover up.
Is it lies spread, vicious and seeking revenge, or is it the truth?
Due to the problems in her past she knows that no one will believe her, so she sets out to seek the truth herself.

Amanda James is an elegant writer, effortless to read and with a pace that keeps urging you to turn the pages. The whole abduction story line is one that is well thought and executed, and just when Holly thought things were over, it picks up its pace yet again to deliver further blows which see Holly fearing for their lives.

I was rooting for Holly from the start, I love a strong female protagonist. I also loved her strong friendship with Demi and Jowan, and seeing just how far they would go to protect her and her babies.

I really loved this book and was reluctant to finish it!

A definite 5* from me. Fans of Susan Lewis and Diane Chamberlain will devour this.

About Amanda James: 

Amanda James has written since she was a child, but never imagined that her words would be published. Then in 2010, after many twists and turns, the dream of becoming a writer came true.
Amanda has written many short stories and has five novels currently published. Her time travelling debut - A Stitch in Time was published in April of 2013 and has met with great success.
Amanda lives in Cornwall and is inspired every day by the beautiful coastline near her home. Three of her novels are set there, Somewhere Beyond the Sea, Summer in Tintagel and Behind the Lie - April 2017 pub - HQUK ( HarperCollins)
Amanda can usually be found playing on the beach with her family, or walking the cliff paths planning her next book.

Author links:

Summer in Tintagel (Urbane Publications July 2016)
Cross Stitch (Choc Lit December 2014)
Somewhere Beyond the Sea ( Choc Lit April 2014)
Dancing in the Rain (Choc Lit March 2014)
A Stitch in Time (Choc Lit) - http://www.choc-lit.com/
Righteous Exposure (Crooked Cat) - http://www.crookedcatbooks.com/

1 comment: